Taiwan is a favourite among Singaporeans for its street food, night markets, and nature escapes. But once you land, getting online isn’t always straightforward — roaming can be pricey, and local SIM card booths at the airport often have long queues. That’s where a Taiwan eSIM makes things so much easier. With the best eSIM for Taiwan, you get instant high-speed 4G/5G data. It's compatible with iPhone, Samsung and many more devices.
Whether you travel in Taipei, Kaohsiung, Taichung and other cities in Taiwan, eSIM offers a seamless experience to keep you connected. Here’s everything you need to know about using an eSIM in Taiwan.
What is Taiwan eSIM?
Electronic SIM cards (eSIMs) are revolutionising connectivity for globe-trotting travellers. Unlike traditional physical SIM cards, eSIMs allow you to conveniently access data plans online, even while abroad.
As Taiwan gains popularity as a top Asian travel destination, Taiwan eSIMs enable budget-savvy travellers to stay conveniently connected across bustling cities and scenic landscapes.
Must-have Apps for tourists in Taiwan
Taiwan is friendly and modern, but first-time visitors might still hit small bumps — like Chinese-only menus, cash-heavy stores, or unfamiliar transport routes. These local apps help you get around like a pro, find great eats, and stay connected with ease.
| Category | Recommended Apps |
| Payment apps | Apple Pay, Google Pay, LINE Pay, EasyWallet |
| Transport apps | Taiwan Railways (台铁), T-Express, Bus+ |
| Map/navigation apps | Google Maps, TaiwanFinder |
| Translation apps | Google Translate, LINE Dictionary |
| Food delivery/discovery | UberEats, Foodpanda, OpenRice |
| Attraction booking | Trip.com |
| Train booking | Trip.com, T-Express (for HSR) |
| Communication apps | LINE, WhatsApp |
💡 Pro tip for using Apps in Taiwan
LINE is the main communication app in Taiwan — even shops and restaurants may ask you to scan a LINE QR for updates or reservations. Make sure to install it and set it up before flying in. Also, download transport apps that support English, and preload your EasyWallet for metro rides. Don’t forget to activate your eSIM early so you’re connected the moment you touch down.
❤️Pro Tip: When planning your visit, consider booking your flights to Taipei early to snag the best deals. For a convenient stay, look for Taipei hotels in advance to secure the best rates.How to use a Taiwan eSIM?
Wondering about the logistics of actually utilising an eSIM for your trip? Just follow these simple steps for smooth sailing.
Before setting up: Check the compatibility of your device
Since not all devices are compatible with Taiwan eSIM, it's best to check your device first. You can check compatible devices below.
Step 1: Choose the best eSIM plan
Choose the best Taiwan eSIM plan and provider.
Step 2: Select the data package
Choose the Taiwan eSIM plan best suiting your trip duration and data needs. Make payment securely using your credit card details registered on the platform.
Step 3: Receive activation email
Note down your unique eSIM profile details provided at purchase. This contains your plan information and QR activation code.
Step 4: Add your eSIM
Set as the instructions: System - Settings - Cellular (iOS) / SIM Card Management (Andriod) - add a Cellular Plan (iOS) / SIM Card (Android) - agree to download Cellular Plan (iOS) or SIM Card (Android), and then scan the QR code for activation (or enter SM-DP +Address and Activation Code manually).
Step 5: Connect the Internet
After the download is successful, close the primary card if you already have. Enable the Cellular Plan (iOS) or SIM Card (Android). Congrats, you can now access mobile internet in Taiwan!
Troubleshooting tips:
Facing issues activating your eSIM? Check for firmware updates, airplane mode toggles, and cellular settings. Can’t access enough data? Consider top-up bolt-on packs from your provider.
The differences of eSIM, SIM and Wi-Fi
You can find the comparison below to gain a comprehensive understanding of eSIM, SIM and WIFI to make informed decisions about which option best suits your needs!
| Feature | eSIM | SIM | WIFI |
| Physical Presence | No physical card required, embedded in device | Physical card required | No physical card required, requires access point and equipment |
| Operator Switching | Easily switch between operators without changing physical SIM | Switching requires physically replacing SIM card | Relies on available Wi-Fi networks and different operators |
| Security | Robust security features, such as encryption and remote management capabilities | Relatively secure, but susceptible to physical theft or loss | Security varies depending on the network and encryption protocols used |
| Availability | Increasing availability, supported by many modern devices | Widely available for GSM and LTE networks | Widely available in urban areas, may be limited in rural or remote areas |
Why use Taiwan eSIM?
Here are the top reasons to use an eSIM for your mobile data needs in Taiwan:
Convenience
With an eSIM, gone are the days of struggling with physical SIM cards. You can skip purchasing local data plans at the airport, fiddling with tiny cards, or worrying about losing your SIM. eSIMs are directly embedded into your phone instead.
Flexibility
Since eSIMs are digital, you enjoy great flexibility. Purchase month-long data plans or short few-day nano-plans online, adjustable according to your trip duration. You can even switch plans to get more data mid-trip if needed!
Cost-effectiveness
eSIM data plans are frequently cheaper than sluggish international roaming packages. You’ll no longer return home to shocking phone bills after a trip!
Wide network coverage
Major eSIM providers ensure reliable 4G LTE signals across Taipei and other top tourist destinations. Stay conveniently connected wherever your travels take you!
How to choose the right Taiwan eSIM?
With different allowances and prices, picking the best eSIM plan for your Taiwan trip is key. Here are crucial factors to consider:
- Data Allowance: Estimate your usage based on travel activities. Choose 1GB per day if you are a light user. We recommend choosing 2GB per day if you regularly use data for videos and navigation. If you stay longer in Taiwan, consider a fixed data package.
- Validity Duration: Pick eSIM plans matching your trip length, whether a few days or multiple weeks long. Some providers offer top-up options.
- Network Coverage: Ensure your provider offers strong signal coverage spanning key cities and regions you’ll visit.
- Pricing: Compare total costs across nano, medium, and long-term plans from different carriers. Watch for discounts too!
- Top-Up Options: Important for longer holidays, check if your chosen eSIM allows mid-trip bolt-on data packs.
Comparison of Taiwan eSIM providers
There are multiple eSIM Taiwan providers. You can choose one based on your needs. Remember to consider your data usage, network, customer support and other factors that may influence you during the trip.
| Feature/Provider | Nomad | MobiMatter | Maya Mobile | Yoho Mobile |
Network quality | Generally reliable with consistent service | Commendable network quality with stable coverage | Dependable service with consistent coverage | Robust network quality with reliable coverage |
| Speed | Competitive speeds for fast data access | Satisfactory speeds ensuring smooth data access | Impressive speeds for fast and reliable data access | Notable speeds providing efficient data access |
| Checking data balance | Can easily check data balance through the Nomad app or online portal | Simple data balance checking via the MobiMatter app or website | Convenient data balance checking through the Maya Mobile app or online platform | Easy data balance checking using the Yoho Mobile app or website |
Nomad
Nomad offers eSIM data plans for Taiwan, providing users with convenient digital connectivity. The network quality in Taipei is generally reliable, ensuring consistent service for users. Speeds are competitive, offering fast and efficient data access. Users can easily check their data balance through the Nomad app or online portal, providing transparency and control over usage.
MobiMatter
MobiMatter provides eSIM data plans for Taiwan, catering to users' digital connectivity needs. The network quality in Taipei is commendable, offering stable and robust coverage. Speeds on the MobiMatter network are satisfactory, allowing users to enjoy smooth data access. Checking data balance is straightforward with the MobiMatter app or website, enabling users to monitor usage effortlessly.
Maya Mobile
Maya Mobile offers eSIM data plans tailored for Taiwan, ensuring users stay connected seamlessly. The network quality in Taipei is dependable, providing users with consistent service. Speeds on the Maya Mobile network are impressive, delivering fast and reliable data access. Users can conveniently check their data balance through the Maya Mobile app or online platform, facilitating easy management of usage.
Yoho Mobile
Yoho Mobile provides eSIM data plans designed for Taiwan, offering users hassle-free digital connectivity. The network quality in Taipei is robust, ensuring reliable coverage and service. Speeds on the Yoho Mobile network are notable, providing users with efficient data access. Checking data balance is simple with the Yoho Mobile app or website, empowering users to monitor usage effectively.
Trip.com
Trip.com is a one-stop travel service provider with a huge selection of hotels, flights, and attractions across the globe. On Trip.com, you can have multiple plans for your needs, including data package, validity period, quantity and more. What you can choose is flexible and customisable!
Additional tips for travellers on Taiwan eSIM
Source: Trip Moments
Beyond just connectivity, here are bonus travel tips for your time in Taiwan:
Recommended data usage limits
Budgeting data needs for your trip duration and activities helps pick suitable eSIM plans. Here are suggestions:
- Light usage (maps, transport apps): 500MB daily
- Medium usage (+ social media, local apps): 1GB daily
- Heavy usage (+ video streaming): 3GB+ daily
Alternatives to eSIMs
If you prefer using physical SIM cards instead, popular options are Chunghwa Telecom’s prepaid visitor cards, as well as PLDT and Globe Philippines SIMs. But network coverage may be limited in certain regions.
Staying safe online
Practicing cybersecurity is crucial even while travelling. We recommend utilising a VPN service to keep your public WiFi connections private and secure, shielding from data theft. ExpressVPN and NordVPN offer reliable privacy globally.
3 Disadvantages you need to consider of Taiwan eSIM
Limited device compatibility
While newer devices generally support eSIM, many older models do not. This limitation can prevent some travellers from using Taiwan eSIM. Make sure to check the device compatibility before purchasing one.
Setup issues
Setting up an eSIM can sometimes be more complex than using a physical SIM card, particularly for those who are not tech-savvy. The process typically involves scanning a QR code or entering an activation code, and any errors in this process can lead to activation failures or connectivity issues.
One-time installation limitation
Once the eSIM profile is activated on your phone, it cannot be transferred to another device or reinstalled if you reset your phone or switch to a new device. This limitation can be particularly inconvenient for travellers who frequently change devices or need to perform a factory reset while on the go.
🎉Pro Tip: Looking for the ultimate travel experience? Don’t miss out on the Taiwan travel guide for tips, top attractions, and local insights.Get the best Taiwan eSIM on Trip.com
Source: Trip Moments
As you prepare to explore the beauty and culture of Taiwan, embracing the Taiwan eSIM technology can significantly enhance your travel experience. With the insights and tips provided in this guide, you're now well-equipped to enjoy seamless connectivity, making your adventures in Taiwan more enjoyable and stress-free.
So pack your bags, and don't forget to set up your eSIM, as exciting discoveries await you in the heart of Asia.
